Review: Reebok RealFlex

Standard

Reebok Optimal Flex

Note: Reviewed in November 2011. Thank you Reebok for my swanky purple pair!

***

Having taken the plunge by registering for Bataan Death March (BDM) 102 happening in March next year, I am supposed to be on serious training mode as of writing.  With over 100 kilometers to cover, I cannot emphasize more on the necessity of keeping my feet, legs, knees, and core in their best fighting form, yet.  As part of my training, I make it a point to log 10k runs during weekdays and if I’m in town, LSDs on weekends.  Suffice it to say that my running shoes are seeing more action now than they ever did in my history of sporadic racing event participation.

Lately, it seems that barefoot/natural/minimalist running is all the rage and this movement is fueling huge industry growth in the Running business. Not wanting to be left out, I decided to look for a pair that can give me the closest possible feel to barefoot running. When I heard about Reebok RealFlex, I got myself a pair and immediately took it for a 10k spin around Ortigas, followed by a round of Insanity Plyometric circuit training the following day.

At only 9.2oz, RealFlex is indeed lighter than most running shoes out there. But aside from it being lightweight, RealFlex capitalizes on its 76 independent “sensors” located at the bottom of the shoe, strategically positioned to adapt to all training surfaces as well as provide much-needed stability.  Having been used to running shoes with ample layer of cushioning, it took me a while to settle into the minimalist construction of RealFlex. But once I did, there was definitely natural movement and flexibility in each of my stride – whether running or doing executing Insanity moves. I also noticed that the sensors in the heel provided great heel impact absorption as I made several downhill trips at St. Martin’s Loop in Pasig.

The upper part of the shoe made mostly of mesh, gives the feet almost a ‘sock like’ feel while ensuring that feet stay dry and cool. The toebox also allows enough breathing room for my toes.

Of course, knowing that two of the fittest CrossFit athletes in the world, Graham Holmberg and Rebecca Voigt, are openly raving about RealFlex technology is really just an added bonus.

Flexing with Real Flex

RealFlex is available for P4,295 at the following Reebok Concept Stores: U/G Level SM Megamall, 2nd Level Festival Supermall, 2nd LevelTrinoma & 2nd Level Citywalk 2, Eastwood, Galleria, also available at Royal Sporting House Ermita.

4 responses »

    • Hi Minter! Thanks for your comment. Funnily enough, I have never been to Bataan myself! I’m sorry for your loss.:( It’s an awful, awful world we live in today. My deepest condolences to you and your family.

  1. Pingback: Homepage

Leave a Reply

