Men’s Health URBANTAHLON and Festival 2010


If I may be allowed to sound juuuust a wee bit smug here – a behavior rightfully earned, might I add, after having completed my first UltraRun at the PAU Mt. Pinatubo 50k TRail Challenge not too long ago –  I hereby boldly declare that I am now completely besotted with long distance runs. Back when my schedule still had some semblance of normalcy and I was actually able to participate in short distance races, I very rarely passed-up the chance to run and chase after PRs. But not anymore, I told myself, after having completed my first marathon at the Condura Run for the Dolphins Marathon sometime in February this year. Clearly, I have proven myself capable of going the distance (literally), so what’s to stop me from breaking barriers yet again by going even farther? Ergo, ULTRARUNNING.

Not to say that I am shunning short races completely. I am, after all, a creature who thrive in adventure, excitement, and the promise of something new and different. You could say I am one of those blessed with the chutzpah to try anything at least once. Which leads us to….

The Men’s Health magazine’s Men’s Health Urbanathlon 2010! With tougher obstacles, an intensified course and more racers, this year’s race is expected to be the most demanding Urbanathlon to date and ONE that I definitely won’t miss.

The Men’s Health Urbanathlon is a city-based, multi-disciplinary race that integrates various urban structures as part of the course and will be held on November 7, 2010, Sunday, 5:00 A.M. at Bonifacio Global City (BGC), Taguig City.

 

I won some Maybelline goodies which I interpreted as the universe's way of telling me I should start looking and glamming up like a woman that I am.:)

 

Last October 13, I was invited to the bloggers’ presscon for MH Urbanathlon where we all sat in awe of the series of obstacle courses that racers will have to accomplish to win. This will be my first Urbanathlon (I believe I was out of the country during last year’s staging)  and you bet I’m as excited as any adrenalin junkie out there!

Registration for the Men’s Health Urbanathlon begins September 28 and ends October 26, 2010. The registration fee for the race is P500.00 and includes a race shirt, drink stubs from Gatorade, food stubs courtesy of Century Tuna and an issue of Men’s Health magazine.

The Men’s Health Urbanathlon 2010 requires more than just perfect running form and endurance so make sure you are properly trained and fit for the event. This year, 360° Fitness Club, the official gym partner of the Men’s Health Urbanathlon, offers race registrants a discounted membership training program designed by 360° Fitness Program Director Chappy Callanta. Visit the 360° Fitness Club at Strata 100 bldg., Ortigas Ave, Pasig City to experience the 360° workout and get race-ready in no time!

 

MH Urbanathlon 2010 PressCon with active running and fitness bloggers in the Phils.

Oh by the way, I’m only doing 5k in the Urbanathlon – which seemed like a great idea especially after seeing the obstacle courses. Man, I gotta work on my endurance, agility, flexibility and cunning. I’m not chasing after a PR here but I sure as hell won’t go down in history as someone who failed in the obstacle courses miserably. I’m in it to, urhhhhm, perform extremely well!

 

***

For more information about the race, visit www.menshealth.com.ph/urbanathlon or add us on Facebook, www.facebook.com/menshealthphilippines. The Men’s Health Urbanathlon 2010 is brought to you by official sports drink Gatorade, official food sponsor Century Tuna, major sponsors V+ Jeans, MSense, Sun Cellular, minor sponsor Lipout, official heart rate monitor Suunto, official gym partner 360° Fitness Club and registration partner R.O.X. Special thanks to radio partners Magic 89.9, Jam 88.3 and RX93.1.

Author: mrsvickyaltaie

Mother to ZO. UltraRunner. Writer. Casual blogger. Yogi wannabe. Passionate about travel, nature, and fashion. Occasionally neurotic. Possibly, undiagnosed bipolar.

One thought on “Men’s Health URBANTAHLON and Festival 2010”

Leave a Reply

