Favorite Item no. 4: Apple Cider Vinegar with Honey


 

Bragg Apple Cider Vinegar with Honey

 

Apple cider vinegar (ACV), or cider vinegar, is one of the most popular alternative health remedies in use today. It has been used since ancient times as a remedy for many different ailments. Hippocrates is said to have used it as an antibiotic, and when mixed with honey, functions as an energizing tonic and a healing elixir.

I have been drinking ACV on and off for a few months now. I was introduced to this brand called Bragg by a good friend and though I have mixed feelings about the taste, I swear by its health benefits. Some people, like my friend, can drink it undiluted but I prefer to mix it with water. Unless it’s sinigang (a Philippine soup or stew characterized by its sour flavor most often associated with tamarind (sampalok), guava, or calamansi) I still like my food either sweet or with a bit of salt. Mostly with a bit of salt. Hello there, water retention.

For one, ACV is a great pick-me-up health concoction. Some mornings when I’m running a little low on energy supply but would still insist on running and hitting the gym, I will myself to drink ACV – preferably with cold water added to it – and I’m instantly energized!

It’s also great for detox cleansing. I noticed that when I drink ACV every morning and at night time, my digestive and excretory systems function at their best.

But I must admit that I still have some reservations about the taste. That is, until I was asked to try Bragg ACV with honey. Now this, I can drink in one gulp without having to pinch my nose and make funny faces after. I love this drink and if you are conscious about your health, figure and general well-being just as I am, I suggest you get into the ACV habit as well.

But don’t just take my word for it. There are many other health benefits of ACV and while some of them are anecdotal and have not been scientifically confirmed, here are some very interesting points to take note of – a great starting point for your own research on the product:

  1. ACV is said to be an effective facial toner when diluted with water 50/50. Just be careful not to get some in your eyes as the liquid can be detrimental to the eyesight.
  2. A bath of apple cider vinegar is said to reduce the effects of sunburn. ACV soaked on a cloth and applied to sunburn may also be used.
  3. Some say ACV is also an effective remedy for yeast infections when used as douche. There are others who claim that vinegar causes or worsens yeast infections.  Whether it’s the brand or the quantity of vinegar used, we really have no way of verifying it. I guess there’s only one way to find out…get yourself some yeast infection and try washing it away with ACV. Yaiks.
  4. There have been reported claims that apple cider vinegar is a powerful weight loss aid. Many people use it in salad dressings or drink a tablespoon diluted in a glass of water once or twice per day.
  5. It is said to lower bad cholesterol naturally.
  6. A teaspoon of cider vinegar in a glass of water per day is said to lower blood pressure.

So how about you try ACV and let me know how it works out for you. Keep healthy and fit, people!

Author: mrsvickyaltaie

Mother to ZO. UltraRunner. Writer. Casual blogger. Yogi wannabe. Passionate about travel, nature, and fashion. Occasionally neurotic. Possibly, undiagnosed bipolar.

2 thoughts on “Favorite Item no. 4: Apple Cider Vinegar with Honey”

  1. Hi,

    Just saw your post about ACV, could you please advice where could I get it in Singapore, been searching high n low for Bragg ACV, thanks a million.

    1. Hi Magdalene! I haven’t actually tried looking for it in Singapore. In Malaysia though, Giant Supermarket carries the brand. Here in the Philippines, Healthy Options have it. Have you tried Carrefour? Healthy Options? Maybe the smaller supermarkets have it as well. I like the RTD variants. So far, my favorite is the honey kind. Not a big fan of the apple cinnamon variant.

Leave a Reply

