On Going Green.


As consumers, we inevitably contribute to global warming with the electronic gadgets we use at home and our workplace; the car that we drive around or the public transportations that we take to get us from one destination to another; the flights that we take for our business or personal trips; our manic retail therapy and our regular trips to the cinema or other forms of recreation.

The question is, how much are we impacting global warming? One way to find out is by calculating our carbon footprint. A carbon footprint is a measure of the impact our activities have on the environment, and in particular climate change. It relates to the amount of greenhouse gases produced in our day-to-day lives through burning fossil fuels for electricity, heating and transportation etc.

When I took the online carbon footprint test sometime in February this year, this is the result I got:

Your footprint is 8.43 metric tons per year The average footprint for people in Philippines is 0.97 metric tons The worldwide target to combat climate change is 2 metric tons
Your
Footprint
Country
Average
World
Target

Your Carbon Footprint:

0.03 metric tons of CO2
3.96 metric tons of CO2
0.00 metric tons of CO2
0.00 metric tons of CO2
0.02 metric tons of CO2
0.00 metric tons of CO2
4.42 metric tons of CO2

Total = 8.43 metric tons of CO2

To offset some or all of your carbon footprint, click the sections you would like to offset in the list above, and click the Offset Now button.

Total To Offset = 8.43 metric tons of CO2

Offset Now
The results of your carbon footprint calculation
  • Your footprint is 8.43 metric tons per year
  • The average footprint for people in Philippines is 0.97 metric tons
  • The average for the industrial nations is about 11 metric tons
  • The average worldwide carbon footprint is about 4 metric tons
  • The worldwide target to combat climate change is 2 metric tons

Although today we live in a technologically-advanced world and everyday discoveries seem endlessly exciting, it’s still the day-to-day actions and the habits you cultivate that matter most especially when it comes to doing Mother Earth good.  By changing your thinking, you are effectively changing your life. Adapting to a greener lifestyle is worth it for all kinds of reasons and you’ll be surprised that it’s not all about the planet. Green habits often save you money and improve your health and life, as well.

That is why from fit and healthy, I have decided I am now going green as well. And looking fabulous while at it.

I cannot build a green house like one of those multi-million solar paneled houses featured on TLC,  but I can certainly help make a difference by adapting to a lifestyle that does very little harm to the environment. I don’t own and drive a car, so that’s several points off my carbon footprint. I do, however, travel a lot and that’s where the bulk of my carbon footprint comes from.

At home, I hardly use airconditioning – unless I have someone over, which happens very rarely. Such is the life of a recluse. *cough, cough* Unless absolutely terrified of ghosts or bad dreams, I sleep with all the lights out. On workdays, I hardly ever watch the telly. Except for CNN or TLC in the morning while I get ready for work and again when I come home from work. And since half the time I’m not in town anyway, my electricity consumption is minimal. Very minimal, in fact, that I sometimes only pay a little over one hundred pesos a month. But no, I am not open to taking in board and lodgers. hahaha. Most of my clothes do not need ironing as they’re made of soft fabrics – just the sort that fabric conditioners can take care of.

That's my old favorite Tesco Green Bag for only RM7. Got it in 2009. I think they have new designs now.

When I do my weekly grocery shopping at the supermarket, I make it a habit to bring my own reusable, environment-friendly bag. Last year in Malaysia, I found this really nice recycled bag from Tesco for only RM7. I was so happy with the design, the size, and the overall usability of the bag that I used it not just for grocery shopping but for also for trips to the mall, cinema, or the beach. For months, I had been looking for something to replace my Tesco bag as it’s looking completely depreciated – what with the amount of stuff I put in it most of the time. The gods of environment-friendly bags must have heard my silent prayer because just the other day when I was at SM Megamall, I saw this orange reusable bag which had the word SPARK emblazoned across the front and it’s being sold for only P35!  And just when I thought it was all there was to it, I saw 3 other colors with words BREATHE, RENEW, and FLOW and I knew then – I have to have all four!

Later on I would find out that these are the SM Eco Bags made of recyclable material and can be durable enough to last up to two weeks of use. As for the size, it’s fairly large enough to hold my junk. I haven’t actually used to it to go grocery shopping but I have used it to carry some of my books and caboodles to work.  Like this morning, I used my SPARK and RENEW bags to carry my Grand Fiesta race kit which I picked up from ROX and my copy of Stieg Larsson’s The Girl Who Played With Fire and some organic chips (as healthy substitute for Lays and Cheetos!) and a bottle of Bragg ACV with honey which I picked up from Healthy Options today as well. And let me tell you, these Eco Bags can carry a load!
SPARK and RENEW with SM Eco Bags
The beauty of bringing your own recyclable bag to the supermarket is that you cut down on plastic bags. Now it may not be possible to eliminate plastics totally from our purchases because let’s face it, most of the products available everywhere are still packed and sold contained in plastics. But at least you lessen the use of plastic bags. That’s good enough a start. Not all of us have the means and resources to take drastic measures in saving the environment but we can start right at home. And if there’s some way that we can do this without losing sight of our unique fashion sense (and without paying incredible amount for it), then what’s keeping us girls from getting involved?
SPARK(LE) with me.
I say, let’s BREATHE, SPARK, RENEW and FLOW starting NOW!
Author: mrsvickyaltaie

Mother to ZO. UltraRunner. Writer. Casual blogger. Yogi wannabe. Passionate about travel, nature, and fashion. Occasionally neurotic. Possibly, undiagnosed bipolar.

Leave a Reply

