Weekend Chronicles Part I


This weekend saw me finally crawling out of the boulder I hid under after my disastrous BDM 52k Test Run in January, and bravely returning to the race track  – armed to the teeth with nearly everything Reebok and a great deal of spunk. I was duly rewarded with a top spot finish at the BDO Race For Life 6k run female division last Saturday; and a 6th place finish in the 5k female division of the AACE The G.O.O.D Run yesterday morning.

Caveat: This is going to be a long post so if you’re at work, I suggest you wait until you reach home to read my blog as I wouldn’t want you getting a memo for slacking-off while at work!

First Place, 6k Female Division

BDO Race for Life (MOA Grounds, 2 April 2011)

Because I missed Globe Run For Home two weekends ago (too busy falling in love again and again and being adored mightily!), I had decided to sign up for BDO’s Race for Life for two reasons: (a) I wanted to give Basia (my pink Zig Tech) some running time in a legitimate competitive race and she how fast she can carry my legs in 6kms. Alex, fellow Team Reebok member, signed me up for the race and we agreed to meet up at Fitness First MOA on the race day, (b.) I wasn’t able to join my Reebok team members at the inaugural soft-launch of the group and therefore, I have some catching up to do. I woke up around 4:30 and geared up quickly. That early morning had a bit of Silent Hill feel to it as there were nearly zero cabs out. It took me half an hour to find one and it was manned by a cabbie who spoke nearly impeccable English. I was impressed and thoroughly entertained as we spoke about current events, running and a few other things in between. Boy can he talk up a storm!

Alex and I walked over to the starting line, left our bags at the check-in counter, and joined the throng of runners waiting for gun start. It got chaotic just minutes before the race started because bulk of the runners were gathered beyond the Start Line and those of us who positioned ourselves just behind the line were being asked to move back to make way for the confused runners. We stood our ground and the rest, well, they had to walk over and gather behind us.

There were only 3 race categories that day – 3k, 6k, and 9k – and hardly any elite runners except Michelle Estuar and some Kenyans. All runners took off at the same time at gun start and the only mechanics we were told to remember was that the 3k means doing only one loop; 6k, double loop; and finally, 9k would be 3 loops.

That morning I had very serious hydration problems. My throat would get so dry – and I mean literally dry it hampered even my breathing that I had to stop at every water station to get a drink. I know I was losing precious seconds by doing so, but I didn’t want to compromise safety so I made it a point to hydrate every chance I get. Thirty four minutes and two loops after, I crossed the finish line feeling quite confident that I landed a spot in the top 10 because I did pass a few runners along the way and nearly all of them, male.

Alex, however, told me that he didn’t see any female 6k runners ahead of me so I might be first! I was excited and hopeful, of course. Who wouldn’t want a podium finish, right? And so we decided to wait for the announcement and voila, I did place first!

Just when I thought I have lost my running mojo because of injuries and prolonged hiatus, I manage to ace the top spot. I’m inclined to think Basia had a lot to do with it as well. Though she stuck out like sore thumb that morning in a sea of Nike, Adidas, and Mizuno – which made me feel a bit sad because Basia looks seriously cute in pink – she powered through a lot of them and together, we got the results we were aiming for.

Still not quite satisfied with the cardio workout I got from my 6k run, I decide to finish off my Saturday workout with INSANITY Core Cardio and Balance.

Looking fly in my Reeboks.
At the podium.
Bemedalled.:)
Reebok-ing.

***

Happy Birthday, Manong!

The 2nd of April also happens to be my brother Francis’ birthday. That night, we had dinner with our nieces – all of whom won’t stop getting prettier each time! We had a great time catching up and I was quite disappointed when I had to leave them so I won’t be late for the 8:00pm showing of CARE DIVAS where Buddy, our extremely talented PETA actor friend, acted as Joni.

Siblings and nieces.

***

CARE DIVAS (Caregivers by day, Divas by night)

Care Divas

Last weekend’s theater run was actually a re-staging in response to the resounding demand from audience – and after watching the show, I totally got what the clamor was all about! I missed the first run, much to Buddy’s displeasure – especially after he learned I watched ZsaZsa Zaturnnah a few weeks after). So I promised him I will show up at the re-run, initially with Noel but he had prior engagement and Dinzobear was likewise unavailable, so I ended up watching alone. But I didn’t mind because the play was perfectly entertaining. No, let me correct myself. The play was multi-dimensional in the sense that it took me though varying range of emotions, so much so, that I found myself bawling my eyes out one minute; laughing the next; feeling tickled at some point – and in the end, feeling a bit of discomfort on both wrists as I was also clapping my hands exuberantly most of the time.  CARE DIVAS was only the second play I saw Buddy act in. The first one was ROMULUS in 2007, back when Celia the Mommycat was still in the Philippines. But in CARE DIVAS, I saw an entirely different Buddy. He’s been my friend for years now but I didn’t realize he was extremely talented that way!  In my defence, I don’t get to spend time with friends because of work and travel. Take my soul sister Abi, for example. We’ve been planning dinner and coffee for ages and we were only able to meet up last Friday. Oh how we’ve missed each other’s company and stories!  Dinzobear is also another favorite friend I haven’t seen in months! He’s busy with Top Gear stuff just as I’ve been busy with so many things of my own. Anyway, he and I will meet up just before I go to Shanghai in a few days. Back to my amiga, Buddy. He sang, danced, acted, and showed off his flexibility with a leg split in one of the many knockout performances by the cast! I’m sooo proud of you, Buddy! I promise never to miss any of your theatre performances from here on in – at least when I’m in town and not stationed somewhere else. Buhay OFW nga naman.

Flanked by 'Joni' and 'Thalia'
The incredible cast of CARE DIVAS and their celebrity guests.

Next post: AACE The G.O.O.D Run. Otherwise known as Noel Abelardo’s debut in the running world And the underworld premiere of GAG-O – the gag show to end all gag shows! – on youtube!

Author: mrsvickyaltaie

Mother to ZO. UltraRunner. Writer. Casual blogger. Yogi wannabe. Passionate about travel, nature, and fashion. Occasionally neurotic. Possibly, undiagnosed bipolar.

4 thoughts on “Weekend Chronicles Part I”

Leave a Reply

