Total Fitness: Improve Your Personality, Pronto!


Which type are YOU?

Note: Published in this month’s issue of TOTAL FITNESS. Grab a copy TODAY!

***

WANTED: With pleasing personality. Look at job ads with mirth or disdain all you want, but there is a reason why nearly all frontliner jobs make ‘pleasing personality’ a non-negotiable requirement. Nobody wants to be around someone who is considered difficult or unmanageable. While some of us seem to be born with a knockout personality that people automatically get drawn to them, there are those who need some work to get there.

At the end of the day, we all secretly or overtly desire to improve ourselves and our personality.  Some do it by first focusing on what is seen on the surface – things such as: changing the whole wardrobe to accomplish a certain look or style; cutting one’s hair or changing the color completely; getting contact lenses or spectacles. Others take speech and personality development  courses or religiously go through a stack of self-help books. But no matter what methods you choose to employ, it would be good to understand that there is a lot more to personality than meets the eye. Combine beauty, impeccable diction, and other outward qualities with grace, kindness, charm, and other essential traits and you just might run off with this year’s Best in Personality award.

So how does one improve her personality?

1.  Don’t be all about YOURSELF. Be interested in people and show it! Spend time learning other people’s likes, dislikes, interests, and beliefs. By doing this, people will warm up to you quickly and think of you as someone who can be trusted.

2.  Be approachable. Don’t walk around with a huge chip on your shoulder. Smiling won’t cost you a fortune so wear that big smile on your face and don’t discourage people from approaching you with that scowl on your face.

3.  Just like everyone else, you have your own weaknesses. Own up to it and don’t go around acting self-righteous and infallible. You can be perfectly likeable in your imperfections.

4.  Appreciate your friends and don’t be shy to compliment them in front of others. By talking about your friends’ good qualities, you are essentially showing the world your appreciative nature. But make sure that you speak the truth when talking about other people’s attributes. Otherwise, you are just another liar.

5.  Surround yourself with people who are successful and happy. Associate yourself with those who can influence you in the positive way and learn from their points of view. Identify your mentor and always seek advice and guidance on matters you are not so confident about.

6. Be visible. Attend social gatherings and expand your circle of friends and widen your sphere of influence.  Listen to conversations and contribute ideas on topics you have some knowledge on. This will greatly improve your communication skills and add to your stock knowledge as well.

7. Introduce changes in your environment. Avoid getting stuck in your routine. Go on vacation to recharge and whatever you do, make sure  you learn something new and different that you can apply to your  daily life.

Personality development and improvement does not happen overnight. It takes a great deal of desire to improve and focus on the steps that you need to take in order to achieve this goal. Also, don’t get discouraged when, in the process, you encounter one or two people who do not take instantly to you. There will always be stumbling blocks but do not let them stop you from becoming a better you.

***

GREAT MALAYSIA FINDS. So you know I have been here in Kuala Lumpur for the past two weeks already and because we’ve been so busy preparing for V-Malaysia; staging it for 5 full days and having the most amazing time doing it; and now that it’s finally over, making sure necessary reports are filed and post-event deliverables are executed – I was only really able to check out the mall once to see what junk I can bring back home. I remember back when I used to spend all my money each time I’m in Malaysia buying shoes, clothes, body moisturisers, chocolates and what-not. But during my last few trips abroad, I have actually been keeping the dough safe and only visiting the two stores I cannot imagine living without: ALDO and La Senza.

On our last day of V-Con, my team and Davoud’s went out to dinner (much love to our darling Venu who gave us food money!) and while waiting for everyone to arrive at the mall, Claire, Andy, Jerlen and I decided to do some window shopping. Except that we ended up actually shopping!

VComm and VBox: Only the GREATEST teams everrrr!

I told you I got LUMI the Lumix, right? She’s adorable, that Lumi!

I also got me some delectable stuff from La Senza which I can’t show you, obviously.

And these two things I got on super bargain price!

Periwinkle!

These periwinkle beauties I got for only RM30! It was originally priced RM60 but because Claire got one pair for herself, we got the second pair at half the price. Now you know I’m a ‘heels’ fan — have always been. But on some days, I must admit, nothing beats strutting around in a pair of Reebok or a cutesy flats. The comfort it gives my feet is just plain orgasmic. Pardonne my French.

My pepperoni handbag
'Bird's Nest' handbag

This gold-sequined handbag and the bird’s nest handbag (it reminds me of the Olympic structure in Beijing!) were another steal at RM99, which, again, is something I simply couldn’t turn a blind eye on. I mean, seriously, two handbags for RM99?!? No wonder my Boss now calls me the ukay-ukay queen – what with my great fondness for cheap, brand-less stuff. Unless of course, we’re talking about underthings here which I am definitely not scrimping on. But no, we are not talking about my underthings.

Mrs. ALDO

And of course, the man (or woman?) himself, ALDO. An absolute non-negotiable for me. I already have close to 15 pairs at home and the boyfriend is now going bonkers thinking how he can accommodate all my shoes – which now totals to about 60 pairs, on my last count. And the number just keeps going up – especially with REEBOK showing me so much love these days!

Isn’t it fun being a girly-girl? I know I’m having the absolute BEST time being one!

Author: mrsvickyaltaie

Mother to ZO. UltraRunner. Writer. Casual blogger. Yogi wannabe. Passionate about travel, nature, and fashion. Occasionally neurotic. Possibly, undiagnosed bipolar.

4 thoughts on “Total Fitness: Improve Your Personality, Pronto!”

Leave a Reply

