I Am 32 Flavors…and then some.


So here’s the deal.

I have tried to delay it for as long as I could but with only two days left, I’m better off embracing the inevitable. At the stroke of midnight on the 21st, I would have officially abandoned the calendar age. Andy, one of the superstars in my department, said 32 is the new 23. I say, that’s exactly what someone who obviously would rather stop ticking her age off a calendar, bingo card, or lotto ticket would say. So, let’s see. I am 32 and at this point, really, there aren’t a lot out there that would thrill me still. At least, not the ones I would consider to be well within the bounds of reason. I mean, yeah sure, a Ferrari (only because of Fernando Alonso, otherwise, an Audi or Mercedes would be just as nifty) would cause me to pass out for half a second but is that something I can afford? Na-uh. Sure, an impromptu month-long adventure to the wondrous Galapagos Island would cause me to pass out half a second longer but again, something I cannot afford. Not yet. So, no, I am not going to do a birthday wish list as I had gotten used to in the past. I don’t get all my wishes anyway – but that’s not the point.

The point is, I think this time, I will do a Birthday’s Resolution. I already have a few off the top of my head so let’s get right down to it, ya?

1. Read one book per week and it starts right about now. I won’t set parameters on genre. It can be anything from serious lit to chicklit. I have been wanting to read Shakespeare and Homer but have always seriously feared I would be proven intellectually inept. But this time, I will not let my silly doubts get in the way. I have always loved books and there was a time (and this kind of stretched for a long period) when I would literally forego eating or showering on weekends because I just got to the good part and once there, of course, I’d want to read it all the way through until the very last page. FYI, I do not stink. Yes, not even with those missed showers in the past.

So I guess I will have to start with this. I’ve had this book since December of 2008. Quite a trip that month and year was. Oh but anyway, for some reason, I couldn’t seem to get past the ‘Natural Philosophers’ which was somewhere only in the second chapter. Not that I’m dimwitted or anything like that – well, I pretend to be sometimes when I’m really annoyed by the person talking- it’s just that I have this habit of reading 2 or 3 books at the same time. Not simultaneously, of course, but I normally would have a bedtime book, a bathroom book, and one that I read in the office or when I’m traveling. And usually, one would be more interesting than the other and I would end up finishing that one first. And then I would sorta forget where I was in the other book so I would go all the way back to page one and then I will maybe pick up another book and, well, it goes on and on like that.

Bookworm Chronicles Week 1

2. Turn myself into a fat-burning machine. I think I have made some good progress in this department so far and it’s now really more of just having a sustainable game plan to make sure I stay a size zero until I pop one – or two – out in the future. With that, I think it goes without saying that I will be blogging ‘Insanity this, Insanity that‘ or ‘Running an ultra here, running an ultra there‘ or ‘Testing this treadmill and all sorts of workout equipment‘ more than I have ever said so in the past. Don’t ask me why I am doing all these things, I do not have a profound answer. I just want to look good. Extremely good.

3. Say Thank you and I’m sorry more. I am not an ungrateful witch and I certainly know how to say Thank You and mean it but I feel I’m not doing it enough. Not verbally, at least. At times I assume a grateful smile or hug would be enough but having those two words uttered in your direction – especially when complemented with a smile and a good hug – is still quite something. Ditto with ‘I’m Sorry’. In fact, this is something I fail to do more than expressing my gratitude. I don’t know but I find it too difficult to acknowledge and own up to my mistakes sometimes. It’s pride in its most evil context at work here, I know. Hence, the birthday resolution.

4. Stay out of trouble. Especially the kind that cause others hurt and despair, even unknowingly. And especially, never maliciously. This also goes so (or should it be ‘as’? Oh grammar, please be a pal!) far as me finally activating my filter. So far, I think I have been practicing restraint in the things that I say and write about but I can maybe do a wee bit more. Let’s see, because usually, when I am angry, I spew vitriol. And more of same for a good long while. I can seriously keep at it until I’m exhausted. NOT. GOOD. AT. ALL

5. Avoid eating four-legged animals and especially not the exotic ones. I don’t think I will ever become a full-fledged vegetarian but I will now only eat just fish and chicken. I was never a beef-eater anyway so it’s really just pork that I am turning my back on – for eternity. Besides that, I can’t think of any as I am not really that adventurous when it comes to meat. I have tried a sliver of crocodile meat maybe two years ago in Boracay when my friend coaxed me into trying it and I didn’t think it was anything special. And last year, my boyfriend got me to try lamb for my birthday dinner and I didn’t think it was all that either. No offense, but I’m just that daring when it comes to food. I am pretty basic. No fuss, no frills kind of girl. Kind of a major dreamboat, really. hahaha. Anyway, to those whom I shall be sharing meals with from here on in, never – I repeat, NEVER – cajole me into eating anything other than those two. Unless, of course, you fancy the thought of having them hurled at your face. No, not really. Vegetables and fruits? Bring it on!

6. Learn how to swim. I know I keep saying this to the point that even I am getting sick and tired of hearing myself say it BUT I am going to learn how to swim before 2011 is up. Just you wait and see.

7. Take care of my skin more. Which means, more sunblock for me even when not going to the beach. Now might also be a good time for me to start picking up (my) slack in the facials department. It’s not cute for someone my age to still be sporting a zit or two on days when looking pretty and fresh-faced would have actually served me better. Not that the opposite of pretty was ever an alternative, but whatever, you do get what I mean ya? I was just never the facials kind of a girl. In fact, I have not exactly been meticulous with facial care that I’m paying for it now. I mean, hello, crow’s feet and wrinkles?!?

8. Ahhh, Bataan Death March 102 in 2012. Now this should be very interesting. I mean, after all the long runs I have participated in, this is what it will come down to – One hundred and two kilometers under extremely hot weather conditions. I have already enlisted some of my friends’ support on this one. I just need to enlist my knees and shins, too, while I’m at it. These two seem to have taken quite a beating these past two years that I have been attacking roads and trails, albeit, on and off.

9. Be a little less impatient and intolerant of things and people I cannot change. Ahhh, the cause of my eternal downfall if I don’t do something about it. Like now. I used to be able to stretch my patience and tolerance a little bit farther before but lately, I have been failing miserably. One word and I blow my top. One look and I lose it. Wrong spelling? Mispronunciation? P&F, V&B syndrome? Ugly shirt? Oh you are gonna get it from me! And it’s usually the smallest things that tick me off. Big time. Could be it age-related? Or have I simply lost my sense of humor somewhere between 20 and 30? And if so, I would really like to get it back. I remember, not too long ago, I used to be funny. You know, like tickle-me-silly-Elmo kind of funny. Now, I am just dripping with sarcasm and condescension. And I’m not proud of it – at least not all the time, no, but I do get a perverse sense of satisfaction out of it! That’s really not funny, isn’t it? I’m sorry.

10. Resolve to get all those nine things listed above DONE! Need I say more? Not a peep required, right? Good. It seems common sense is still fairly common – contrary to popular belief.

Aaaand on that note I say, Happy birthday you silly woman, you!

Author: mrsvickyaltaie

Mother to ZO. UltraRunner. Writer. Casual blogger. Yogi wannabe. Passionate about travel, nature, and fashion. Occasionally neurotic. Possibly, undiagnosed bipolar.

11 thoughts on “I Am 32 Flavors…and then some.”

  1. Advance Happy Birthday Vicky ^_^ your list is inspirational, I think I wanna start doing a few of these things, too. Take care and hope to see photos of your birthday bash!

Leave a Reply

