NIKON Run 2011 (Subtitled: Oh hello there, pet peeves!)


This is officially the second time dear friend and soon-to-be business partner (fingers-crossed!) Noel aka Atche and I have joined a road race together. The first one was in April at the AACE Good Run where he did 3k and I did 9k (if my memory serves me right). This morning, however, Noel braved 4k and finished the course in 31 minutes wearing his color wheel of a running pair – which I find curiously pretty because it’s such an attention-grabber!

Photo by Ralph Gulapa.

Meanwhile, I ran 11k with a disappointing record of 1 hour and 1 minute – give or take  a few seconds. I was feeling out of sorts even before the race started but was happy nonetheless to have managed to get my cardio workout done for the day.

Fashionably yours...Vicky
BODY by REEBOK. (Subtitled: Yun oh!) Photo by Noel Abelardo.

The race was quite small in attendance but I was surprised to see some elite runners in the 4k and 11k categories. And why wouldn’t there be? They awarded digicams, tripods, and what-not to the winners. Last week’s Team Reebok ZigTech Fun Run 5k male winner Eluid Kering, a Kenyan, also bagged the top spot in the 4k category this morning. Hindi na masama, brand new Reebok shoes and camera + accessories in a span of two weeks!

Partners in some of the most heinous crimes...of love. LOL.

In my category, there were four female elites in the lead pack. I have yet to see the official results but I think I was fifth. Looking at the bright side of things, I realized I am consistently landing in the top 10 of nearly all the short-distance races I join. Not too shabby, eh?

Met another Reebok-sponsored runner, Coach Janet.

But this morning sort of tested my tolerance and indulgent understanding of the female species. Yes, my kind. You see, there was this youngling, no more than 22 in my estimation, who joined the race with her face made up like a tart in heat. I’m talking about serious kohl eyeliner, eyeshadow, the reddest of red blush-on, and maybe two coats of lipgloss. At one point, her eye make-up smudged unflatteringly because of her sweat, making her look like a raccoon. And I wondered, was she perhaps looking to seduce a man who is sexually aroused by the sight of a strolling (she wasn’t running, by the way) raccoon? Meaning, a bestial?

We made a deal today: On our next run, Noel will refrain from smoking a week before the race.

And what about these girls who think it is cute to jog while holding hands, hop-skip giddily, and get in the way of the runners? First of all, it is not cute. It is downright stupid. We may not be constantly obsessing about PRs but some of us do take getting a good cardio workout while at the races quite seriously. And I, for one, do not appreciate having my momentum interrupted because some non-runners thought it might be cute to inconvenience others by holding hands and giggling while at a race. Seriously, go home, read books, and smarten up a little.

When we're not running...we're 'running our mouth'.:p

Finally, these runners who come armed to the teeth with all the running contraptions they can get their hands on – compression tights, compression socks, hydration belts, etc. – and do less than 10k. Really? Like, WHY? I seriously don’t get it.

Is it just me or do you also find these silliness, well, silly – if not altogether comical?

All in all, I still think it was an okay race considering it was the Nikon Club of the Philippines’ maiden foray into an open-to-the- public  activity such as running. They also raffled off exciting prizes from sponsors which neither Noel and I won a single thing of. I have always been lucky at raffle draws but today, luck seemed to have taken an extended nap in my bed.

Ika nga ni Romy: I'm feeling so fly like a 'cheeztick'. Ohmygad Romy, that parody wont stop playing in my head!

Lastly, took some really fancy shots of my new Reebok Easytone shoes which I am currently testing. It’s a sample pair which i’m told will not be sold here. So yey, I’m a standout again! The whole Easytone line will be launched next month and we have some very exciting events and surprises for all of you Reebok lovers – and soon-to-be converts, because you know, we heart you.

Matilda and I.

One thing I can tell you about my Easytone shoes which I have given the name MATILDA, is that it is so comfortable and works effectively in toning my calf, leg, and bum muscles.  In fact, these days, I am more than happy to trade my favorite ALDOs for MATILDA when walking around. With MATILDA, who knows, maybe I won’t need to have  a bum job after all. *wink*

So, tell me loves, how’s your weekend (looking like) so far?

Author: mrsvickyaltaie

Mother to ZO. UltraRunner. Writer. Casual blogger. Yogi wannabe. Passionate about travel, nature, and fashion. Occasionally neurotic. Possibly, undiagnosed bipolar.

9 thoughts on “NIKON Run 2011 (Subtitled: Oh hello there, pet peeves!)”

  1. I’m actually planning on doing Bataan Death March in 2012. It’s 102k with a cut-off time of 18hrs, if i’m not mistaken. If my knees and legs are up for the challenge, I am signing up.:)

Leave a Reply

