The fastest way to a (fitness) destination is Curves.


I remember when Davoud and I were in Singapore not too long ago and co-workshop participants invited us to their office. From M Hotel, we walked quite a bit following straight routes that seemed to go on forever. Going back, Davoud led us to a street that intersected his hotel and just by making two turns, we were right back where we came from! I swear, this guy knows his Google maps! Anyway, he said the fastest way to a destination is a curve. I dunno where this IT genius gets his ideas from and I don’t even know why I used this bit as my blog opener – it’s just that the word ‘curve’ is slotted in somewhere in the story.

So yeah, Curves.

Vicky Ras and Kassy Pajarillo for CURVES (Photo by Ena Terol)

Guess what? I finally got to try out CURVES last Wednesday when Kassy, Marga and I met up for some FTW matters at Echo Store in Serendra. One word: FUN! Let me digress for a bit: Have you guys tried Echo Store? My goodness, their sandwiches are to die for! And super healthy to boot! That afternoon, Kassy and I were so hungry we demolished two sandwiches apiece. And they came with a small portion of salad and iced tea per serving, so you can just imagine how stuffed we were soon after. I literally felt my stomach expand and stretch beyond usual and I had to carry the weight of it until after our circuit workout + Zumba at Curves.

Stretching is VERY important

I’m so glad to have finally made use of my CURVES ‘privileges’. It took me a long while to get my schedule a bit sorted out because, well, work almost always comes first. Having Marga and Kassy there made the circuit even more fun for me. You know at first, I didn’t really think I’d get the kind of workout my body has gotten quite used to (read: painfully intense) but I was pleasantly surprised to feel my heart rate go up and my sebaceous glands work up some serious sweat!

Have workout gal pals: It makes circuit training more fun and enjoyable.

At CURVES, you do circuit training. In between equipment, you have 30 seconds to do your thing on the square pad. You can run, do butt kicks, high kicks, dance, squat, pretty much anything – before you move on to the next workout. If there’s Zumba class, Zumba is what you do in between equipment. And don’t worry about not knowing how to dance at all because CURVES has the kind of ambience that allows you to enjoy your workout with reckless abandon, so to speak. It’s an all-women fitness club which automatically eliminates whatever trepidation you may have about getting spotted in your moments of awkwardness. As far as the equipment go, my favorites are the squat and obliques machine.

One of my favorites: the squat machine
With sweet Anne, one of CURVES fitness trainers

So Ladies, if you have your laundry list of fitness goals BUT have not exactly made any progress, why not start at CURVES? I guarantee YOU will love it!

***Workout apparel courtesy of REEBOK. Easytone + shoes (Matilda, oh Matilda!), Cirque de Soleil fitted top, Easytone pants, Reebok socks. All these you can now purchase at any REEBOK store nationwide.

Wait, there’s MORE! If you happen to be somewhere North on September 15 (Thursday), we strongly suggest you head down to TRINOMA for a very special REEBOK event — the EASYTONE Launch and FanCon, happening from 5:30 – 8:30pm. See you there!

Interact with Team Reebok, visit the fanpage TODAY and answer the kick-off question.

REEBOK EasyTone

***

Find CURVES here:

Bonifacio Global City2/F Serendra, McKinley Parkway
BGC, Taguig 1634 PH
Tel.:(02) 828 0208
Telefax: 915 0773
Globe: +63 917 870.8870
Smart: +63 920 949.9851
Sun: +63 922 817.0353

Author: mrsvickyaltaie

Mother to ZO. UltraRunner. Writer. Casual blogger. Yogi wannabe. Passionate about travel, nature, and fashion. Occasionally neurotic. Possibly, undiagnosed bipolar.

Leave a Reply

