Yup, that’s algae alright.


I was intently peering inside my favorite Aqua Lock & Lock water bottle (it says ‘We make your table more elegance with our design water bottle’ on the sticker-on product label, so guess where it was manufactured from?) because I had been feeling unsettled by the yellowish discoloration at the inside bottom of the bottle which I had been drinking from for several days already — when Laj walked into the office pantry.

Me: Laj, tingnan mo nga ‘to. Why is the color yellow-ish at the bottom? I think it’s moss.

Laj: Na-a-arawan ba siya on your table? I think that’s algae.

Me: Well, yah, ‘coz I leave it on top of my table lang naman and when the sun is high and mighty, it gets exposed to heat.

Laj: Yup, that’s algae alright.

Can you believe that? It turned out I had been drinking algae with my water for several days already and I didn’t even bother to investigate at the first sighting of the yellowish thingy inside my water bottle! I’m surprised all this while that I had been inadvertently snacking on algae I did not grow gills or whatever these fish that feed off on algae have. Took a quick glance on my skin just now and I didn’t see scales – yey, I’m safe!

These things always happen to me. There were times before when I would take a swig off a Yakult bottle or have a sip of milk only to realize after several gulps and the initial sour taste lingered, that those were actually expired stuff in my fridge! Seriously, who does that?!? The problem with me is that I go crazy when doing grocery shopping. I buy so much stuff, mostly perishables, leave them in the fridge for several days without bothering to eat them because I often feel full already from the meals I had taken during work hours. By the time I remember I still have them stored somewhere, they’re expired. Moments like this, I can almost hear Kassy say ‘Gumu-gujab ka na naman!

Patayin sa algae si Becky!

***

This week is war week at work for all of us. Our Boss is in town and we have so much ground to cover in terms of projects pending, and those that will be launched in the near offing. Good news: the first VOYAGER mock-up is ready to be presented to the Boss later. I am really proud of my VOYAGER Team! Call it great talent or serious pursuit of perfection finally paying-off but we are really coming up with great issues one after the other. The last issue which was distributed to our convention participants in Malaysia last May was already pretty nifty and it got great reviews from the readers – and then I saw the first mock-up of the latest issue and it definitely stood head and shoulders above any of the past issues!

Not only that, we have gone online as well. Wanna see it? It’s right here. You can browse through Issue no. 7, no. 6, and no. 5 and see what fun and informative stuff we have put together all these months and years.

***

FTW Magazine is now on its final stages of editing and proofreading and will be hitting the printing press in no time! This one is exceptionally special for the FTW Team (Kassy, Marga and Chad) and our growing roster of supporters and sponsors because this is something we put together with only our ideas and daring in our limited arsenal. After weeks of putting together this piece of wonder and talking to so many sponsors and partners, we are inching closer  and closer to actually touching and smelling the printed pages of the magazine. Yey for us! Not to be yabang or anything but I am pretty sure you would all agree when you see this mini magazine that we have just outdone awesome.

***

Thank you Ena Terol for this photo!

By the way, please don’t forget to drop by TRINOMA Activity Center on the 15th of September, from 5:30 to 8:30pm, for the REEBOK EasyTone Launch and FanCon. We have tons of surprises in store for all of you Reebok fans and converts and you would loathe to miss all of it! For details, check Team Reebok Running page on Facebook regularly.

SEE YOU THERE!

***

On the running front, I must say I am mighty proud of myself for logging decent mileage during the past weeks. Just before I left for Singapore nearly two weeks ago for a workshop, I accumulated a whopping 100.5k mileage in seven days! Unfortunately, Chris and I were only able to run twice while I was in Singapore and did not immediately jump into running when I got back. But after a few days, I was back on the road and have been running an average of 15k every morning – with the longest distance of 25.38k in 2:32:30 last Saturday. I had wanted to do a full marathon distance, LSD pace, with KB Runner that time but he had prior running commitment with some runners down south. I had to settle for nearly 26k, all by myself. I would have gone on to cover a bit more distance than that but I had FTW meeting + family dinner + hangout with the becky’s on the same day.

The past three days, however, I had to take a break from running as I had been waking up lightheaded – which I now attribute to the damned algae on my water bottle! hahaha. But last night, I started to feel the excess weight and the sluggishness that come with it so I committed to start running again when I wake up in the morning. I’m telling you, I am no longer used to not doing cardio everyday. I get cranky, impatient, and I feel bloated even when I’m not. Since I got all maniacal and obsessive about this whole fitness thing, I even feel guilt-stricken having to eat food when I know I haven’t worked out previously.

So anyway, this morning, I did 15.35k in 1:35:30. I was slower than usual, I know, but I think it was because of the fact that my legs went on vacation for three days. Ang tatamad ng mga hitang ‘to! hahaha.

Oh, and I have also been using Claudia for most of my training and she’s awesome! She’s the perfect combination of superb performance and ultra comfort.

I have two major races coming up: One is the PAU 50k from Tagaytay to Nasugbu and Manila Marathon (i’m doing full mary here) back-to-back in September.

This will be my second PAU ultra race, the first one being the memorable Mt. Pinatubo 50k trail race last year which I kind of aced. Last Saturday, the trail runners took to the crater and back again with the 2nd Mt. Pinatubo race but I didn’t join because I am not feeling so confident. I don’t want another DNF on my record, no siree!

Aaaaand that’s all folks! Tune in again in a few days when I post a fresh update. Meanwhile, go and get yourself some good vibes and give back loads as well. Cheers Loves!

Author: mrsvickyaltaie

Mother to ZO. UltraRunner. Writer. Casual blogger. Yogi wannabe. Passionate about travel, nature, and fashion. Occasionally neurotic. Possibly, undiagnosed bipolar.

10 thoughts on “Yup, that’s algae alright.”

    1. hahaha. That was incredibly duh of me to keep ignoring the ecosystem inside my water bottle! But, i’m still standing and stronger than ever so I suppose there is some merit in ingesting algae.LOL.

    1. But the algae adds a bit of flavor! hahaha. Miss ko naman kayo nina Marga and Chaddy! Thanks for reminding me, will sms KC na. Lemme know when we’re getting our outfit for the event ha. Mwah!

  1. It’s sad to see people like you boasting about buying too much grocery and then wasting it when you
    could have just shared it with someone needy of it

    1. I actually DO feel awful about it. But it’s not like I buy food and purposely let them rot. I travel a lot and most of the time when I get back from my trip, food’s no longer as fresh as when i first bought them. Most of the time though, I give my food to the security personnel in our condo building. Feel free to ask them how generously I give/feed them. It’s really just the dairy products I sometimes forget. But why am I even explaining here when i don’t get my groceries from you? Easy on passing judgments to people you know next to nothing about. For all you know, they are doing far greater things than you. Just saying.:)

Leave a Reply

