Run For Pinoy Glory 2012


EDITED to add this: Well, well, well…it seems I got my finishing time all mixed-up! I did not finish 10k above 1 hour like I initially reported. I was looking at the 21k time which was still ongoing when i crossed the finish line. Thanks to Pinoyfitness.com, who posted the results. I finished 10k in 55 minutes 32 seconds and ranked overall 68th out of 192 – and that ain’t shabby at all! Yiheee!

Yes Loves, I am Miss bib number 30148.:)

It was my first race in 2012 and it seemed as though I had forgotten how to run. I was unforgivably slow and though the sluggishness can be justified by a laundry list of reasons, I still couldn’t help but feel wee bit disappointed with my time, which was a little over an hour . Unheard of, really, in my years of chasing PRs and oft-fruitful attempts of trying to outdo myself.  official results show that I did not do so bad after all. I mean, sub-1 is still something, right?

Team Reebok proudly ran for Pinoy Glory

But, truth be told, I am not nearly as broken as I perhaps would have been if I had actually been training – which I haven’t. Since Christmas, which I spent gallivanting around Singapore with soon-to-be-husband, I haven’t done much running. And so it was with heightened sense of apprehension that I asked fellow Team Reebok members Mark and TR if there’s a race that I could perhaps join this weekend as I am in dire need of mileage.

Thankfully, CHRIS Sports came to the rescue! I was having a chat with my Boss when TR sms-ed telling me that we got free race kits for Run For Pinoy Glory 2012 – a benefit run organized by PROACTIVE  for our Pinoy paralympics delegation who, unbeknownst to many, have actually been bringing our country pride and glory in the field of athletics, disability and all.

Vicky the doggy whisperer.:)

I have been away from racing events far too long I guess that I had almost forgotten how I would sometimes feel electrified just by standing among runners and fitness enthusiasts. Glad I felt that again at the race last Saturday. I was supposed to run 21k with Mark and TR but I had to ask to be downgraded to just 10k the night before the race because I had been working like a dog the past week and also, it was Day 2 of our fasting – which I have committed to see through until the end.

Team Reebok with the Pinoy paralympics athletes

On race day, I set my alarm at 3:30am, and woke up expectedly groggy and physically weak. After exchanging pleasantries with some friends and acquaintances at the starting line, I was ready to take my brand new deep purple Reebok Zig Nano for a 10k spin. I thought I started pretty fly but I found myself uncharacteristically slowing down just a few minutes after. When other female runners started passing me by one by one, and knowing that I am in no state to run faster, I allowed myself to just have fun and soak in the euphoria of running outdoors once again.

The race was held at BGC so the route was pretty familiar and there was hydration station aplenty, which was a darn good thing especially for someone who was running very low on energy reserves, like me. My teammates and I made a deal to meet up at the CHRIS Sports’ booth which is where I gravitated towards after I crossed the finish line.

There, I saw Ms. Arleen and we had a lively chat about work, faith, Church, and a few commonalities we discovered we have! And just before we made our way for home, we had the privilege of meeting, shaking hands, and chatting briefly with some of the disabled Pinoy athletes for whom the race was organized in the first place.

Team Reebok with a runner from the PNP

I told them about that morning I flew out of Jakarta to Singapore just last December and being on the same flight with the Myanmar paralympics delegation. It turned out, our Pinoy paralympics were also flying out of Jakarta on that day but on a different flight. I don’t know about you but I am just overflowing with respect and awe for these athletes who, instead of wallowing in self-pity and deprecation, have made that decision to overcome their physical limitations and be great at what they can do in sports. And much unlike some disabled people out there, these athletes are financially crippled as well and therefore, in need of support from people who have a little – or more – to spare.

That's me, making my hot pink Reebok ensembles even hotter. Well, to my think, at least. haha.

And so I feel PROACTIVE has really done something amazing by organizing Run For Pinoy 2012. Whatever money was raised through the run will most certainly help our disabled athletes in their bid for Olympic(s) glory in London this year. With our support and prayers, who knows, they will soon come home bearing medals – if not a lot of experience and confidence gained simply from competing against different countries all over the world.

Mabuhay ang atletang Pinoy!

***

Before I go, that gorgeous Reebok hot pink top and shorts and the equally-ravishing purple ZigNano pair are now available at all Reebok stores in the Metro. I heard they are going away fast so make sure you snatch a pair and totally glam up even while sweating on the road. You never know when KB Runner is going to be at the race and if he is and you happen to be glammin’ it up as per usual in your Reeboks, you just might be hitlisted. I’m just saying…

Author: mrsvickyaltaie

Mother to ZO. UltraRunner. Writer. Casual blogger. Yogi wannabe. Passionate about travel, nature, and fashion. Occasionally neurotic. Possibly, undiagnosed bipolar.

6 thoughts on “Run For Pinoy Glory 2012”

  1. It was great to see you again after months of not seeing each other! How time flies indeed! Here’s to a great year to all of us! Let’s continue to uplift the running community and continue to support our athletes!

Leave a Reply

