Black Pencil Project: Run For Pencils


On March 3 to 4 (Saturday-Sunday), I will be among the 200 or so runners participating in the legendary Bataan Death March (BDM) 102 race. Since my heart was won over by ultrarunning, it has been my dream to run and complete the 102-kilometer course. In large part because of pride (bragging rights, feather in my cap, etc) and honor, and also because I consider BDM to be the mother of ultras – locally, at least, and something that i still consider to be well within the range of my intestinal fortitude.

But as much as I am a proud woman, I am also in possession of a heart that is as soft as marshmallow. That statement, by the way, does not pertain to romantic feelings because let me tell you now, I don’t do romantic. Okay, maybe only in small portions. What I’ve always had is compassion, to a fault sometimes. Although maybe that is somewhat of a paradox because I believe one cannot be too compassionate. Goodheartedness simply does not go out of style.

So what’s the point i’m making? One might ask. Let me get right down to it then as I know we are all busy, career-driven people here.

For my BDM 102 quest, I volunteered to run for a cause, supporting Black Pencil Project’s (BPP) cause-oriented initiative called RUN FOR PENCILS. Under this project, donors can pledge a corresponding amount for each kilometer that the volunteer runner is able to complete. I believe there is a minimum amount of P10.00 (10 pesos) set, per kilometer. The money to be raised will be pooled together and utilized to buy school supplies and other learning facilities for the school children among the indigenous tribe of the Mangyans in the Philippines.

Vicky Ras is running for pencils.

I intend to finish all 102 kilometers and if all of you will support me, imagine how much money we will be able to raise to uplift the educational level and experience of our Mangyan children who, otherwise, will not be able to gain access to proper education! I will let you do the math because, uhrrrm, numbers and I are such strange bedfellows.

Kindly visit this site for details and also to make your pledges under my name.

http://www.blackpencilproject.org/201201/bpp-runners-2012/

If you ask me, I am a ball of agitated nerves right now, with barely two weeks left until D-day and never having the time for  proper training and all because I had been traveling and working like a dog. Two things I like very much, by the way, so I don’t really mind the long hours and late nights.  So aside from the money you will be donating, I also ask that you pray for my safety as I bravely attempt to cover 102kms within the cut-off period of 18 hours.

Thanking all of you (and your generous hearts) in advance!

 

xoxoxo

-Vicky-

Author: mrsvickyaltaie

Mother to ZO. UltraRunner. Writer. Casual blogger. Yogi wannabe. Passionate about travel, nature, and fashion. Occasionally neurotic. Possibly, undiagnosed bipolar.

4 thoughts on “Black Pencil Project: Run For Pencils”

  1. hi uhmm..im in need of visitors for my project in school…your visit would be appreciated on my blog : tablespoonofflavors.wordpress.com thank you. you could also share it if possible thanks 🙂

Leave a Reply

