REVIEW: Wall Rope Yoga at Master’s Yoga Sadhan


For quite some time now, I have been harbouring illusions of becoming a yoga teacher someday. Not that I have really devoted a good amount of time to study and practice yoga in order for me to get anywhere near my dream, but I have been practicing on and off for a year or so now. And for a while I thought I was really getting somewhere with my home practice, then I became really bad at managing my own schedule and before long, it was back to square one for me. Whatever flexibility I may have gained in the last few months of consistent yoga practice, was quickly reversed by just a few weeks of inactivity. Don’t we all just loathe it when something like that happens?

Thankfully, Mae pulled me back in to the amazing world of yoga by introducing me to wall rope yoga at Master’s Sadhan. Strictly based on the late great B.K.S Iyengar‘s strong focus on alignment, rope wall yoga helps you achieve proper alignment, strength and ease in postures. This is also good especially for beginners who struggle with their fear of inversions and holding balancing poses.

Location: 88A, TANJONG PAGAR ROAD
Welcome to Master’s Yoga Sadhan.

I looked up the studio on the internet and my curiosity was instantly piqued. I signed up for their ‘3 classes for $20’ promo, just to try it out before deciding to commit to more classes. I went for my first trial class and got magically roped in.

First of all, Master’s Yoga Sadhan is my kind of intimate yoga environment where the teacher – in this case, Teacher Shree – has more time, patience and dedication to look after the students and correct postures when necessary. I have been to big commercial yoga studios and frankly, I thought I grew more as a yogi wannabe by following YouTube videos. But when I entered Master’s Yoga Sadhan’s sanctuary for the first time and caught the tail-end of the previous class, where I saw the students suspended on ropes and inverted against the wall, I felt right at home.

Teacher Shree hails from India and has worked as yoga instructor in the cities of Bangkok and Hong Kong before moving to Singapore where he eventually set up his own studio, three years ago.

Let Teacher Shree will show you the ropes
Let Teacher Shree show you the ropes

In Wall Rope Yoga each student is assigned to two sets of ropes (top and bottom) which will be used in the asanas that typically include standing postures, twists, forward folds, inversions and arm balances.

These ropes are considered effective props in helping students, particularly beginners, to open up their bodies and slowly release tension in key areas by allowing the body to stretch and align properly without going beyond its range of natural and assisted range of motion.

Inversion junkies.
Inversion junkies.

Wall Rope Yoga offers a multitude of benefits, and if you ask me, these are the three things that I have come to really appreciate when it comes to my practice:

1. Wall rope yoga lengthens your spine and brings flexibility to your joints. With the use of ropes, I am able to extend my spine much further than in normal (unassisted) yoga poses, thus allowing me to go deeper in other poses like backbends and sidebends. I have mild scoliosis and prone to having lower back pains as a result of sitting in front of my laptop for hours on end everyday, and a good session of wall rope yoga gives me nothing but sweet relief down the length of my spine.

Working on my full split, rope-assisted.
Working on my full split, rope-assisted.

2. Wall rope yoga strengthens hard-to-build muscles. I have always lacked upper body strength which makes pull-ups and push-ups such a difficult task for me. But since I started working with the ropes, I began to notice the amount of strength that’s required of my arms and core in every pose, which helps me to distribute my energy and focus where they’re needed.

Post-yoga class playtime with Mae.
Post-yoga class playtime with Mae.

3. Wall rope yoga helps improve inversions. While I had already been able to execute headstands well before attending wall rope yoga, I still am terrified of doing variations such as tripod and my greatest fear, pincha mayurasana. But with much-improved arm strength which i am hoping to gain out of wall rope yoga, I have no doubt that I will be able to do pincha in a few months. *fingers crossed*

***

Master’s Yoga Sadhan is located at 88A Tanjong Pagar, Singapore.

Author: mrsvickyaltaie

Mother to ZO. UltraRunner. Writer. Casual blogger. Yogi wannabe. Passionate about travel, nature, and fashion. Occasionally neurotic. Possibly, undiagnosed bipolar.

1 thought on “REVIEW: Wall Rope Yoga at Master’s Yoga Sadhan”

  1. Glad you found a way to fully immerse yourself in the wonderful practice of various yoga exercises! Wall rope yoga is a very unique practice that requires strength and balance but it’s really good for your spine and overall wellness. Hope you have more fun and challenges with this!

Leave a Reply

